England name T20 and test squads for New zealand tour ,Jonny baristow drop.

England have dropped an underperforming Jonny Bairstow from the Test squad for the upcoming New Zealand series. At first, it was reported that he might be asked to play as a batsman on the tour but Bairstow has missed out on a place in the Test squad. It means Jos Buttler will be donning gloves for the first time since his Test return last year.Also Read:Dom Sibley, who has scored 1324 runs in county season, has been handed his maiden Test call-up. Sibley was knocking the doors for some time now but with England’s policy of not making many changes during a series, they persisted with Jason Roy, who has been dropped from the Test squad.Along with Sibley, Zak Crawley is another uncapped batsman in the Test squad. He has come in as an opener, the fourth in the squad for the tour.

With Roy dropped, it remains to be seen if Joe Denly will move back to the middle-order with England naming two more openers. Rory Burns will retain his spot at the top.Ollie Pope, who was included as a backup to Roy during Ashes, has made his comeback to the Test side. He has played two Test matches against India during the home series last year.Saqib Mahmood and Matt Parkinson are other two uncapped players in the Test squad. The former is a pacer while Parkinson is a leg-spinner. He will be back up to Jack Leach on the tour, who will be leading the spin attack.Jofra Archer and Stuart Broad will lead the pace attack. Joe Root was retained as Test captain.The two-match Test series kicks off on November 21 with the first Test to be played at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui. The second Test will start on November 29 at Seddon Park, Hamilton.Squad: Joe Root (Captain), Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Jack Leach, Saqib Mahmood, Matt Parkinson, Ollie Pope, Dominic Sibley, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes.T20I:England have rested number of regulars for the New Zealand T20I series. Sam Billings has made his comeback to the side. He had recently made his comeback to competitive cricket after recovering from a shoulder issue.Tom Banton, Pat Brown and Saqib Mahmood are three new faces in the T20I squad..

Bairstow, who has been dropped from the Test squad, will be keeping wickets for the team that will miss out on the services of Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Buttler and Archer.Also Read: Before the T20I series, England will play two T20 practice matches against New Zealand XI on October 27 and 29. The five T20Is of the series will be played on November 1, 3, 5, 8 and 10.Squad: Eoin Morgan (Captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Denly, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, James Vince.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *